Minutes of the Environment and Climate Change Committee - 9 December 2024

Members Lord Mayor - Councillor Clover Moore AO (Chair), Deputy Lord Mayor -Councillor Zann Maxwell, Councillor Sylvie Ellsmore, Councillor Lyndon Gannon, Councillor Robert Kok, Councillor Jess Miller, Councillor Matthew Thompson, Councillor Yvonne Weldon AM, Councillor Mitch Wilson and Councillor Adam Worling (Deputy Chair).

At the commencement of business at 2.21pm those present were -

The Lord Mayor, Councillors Ellsmore, Gannon, Kok, Maxwell, Miller, Thompson, Weldon, Wilson and Worling.

Adjournment

At 2.30pm, it was moved by the Chair (the Lord Mayor), seconded by Councillor Kok -

That the meeting of the Environment and Climate Change Committee be adjourned for approximately 15 minutes.

Carried unanimously.

The meeting of the Environment and Climate Change Committee concluded at 2.30pm.

Item 1

Confirmation of Minutes

Moved by Councillor Worling, seconded by the Chair (the Lord Mayor) -

That the Minutes of the meeting of the Environment and Climate Change Committee of Monday 11 November 2024, as circulated to Councillors, be confirmed.

Carried unanimously.

Item 2

Statement of Ethical Obligations and Disclosures of Interest

No Councillors disclosed any pecuniary or non-pecuniary interests in any matter on the agenda for this meeting of the Environment and Climate Change Committee.

The Environment and Climate Change Committee recommended the following:

Item 7.3

Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel - Terms of Reference, Membership and Appointment of Chairperson

It is resolved that Council:

- (A) endorse the establishment of the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel;
- (B) endorse and adopt the Terms of Reference of the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel, as contained in Attachment A to the subject report;
- (C) authority be delegated to the Chief Executive Officer to make minor amendments to the Terms of Reference, in consultation with the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel to correct any drafting errors and finalise design, artwork and accessible formats for publication;
- (D) appoint Councillor Adam Worling as the Chairperson of the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council;
- (E) appoint Councillor Jess Miller as the alternate Chairperson of the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel, for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council; and
- (F) appoint Lois Towart, Robert Vitale, Cheryl Hollebon and Toula Foster as the community representatives of the Floodplain Risk Management Advisory Panel, for a term effective immediately and ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council.

(Note – at the meeting of the Environment and Climate Change Committee, this recommendation was moved by Councillor Worling, seconded by the Chair (the Lord Mayor), and carried unanimously.)

S055537-02